Some artist research

Looking at artists that work in a location for inspiration.


Robert Smithson

I looked at some of the work created by Smithson as I am aware that he uses the land to create his work and am interested with his use of scale. The fact that site specific work could be at such a large (or small) scale never occurred to me. The image I have looked at are very visually beautiful and have an other-worldly quality, almost like “alien” crop-circles. I particularly find interesting how Smithson incorporates all of the elements of the land within his pieces, whether it be water or earth. I particularly like the pieces that have been dug into the earth as they almost appear to be vein like and give that part of land a kind of living quality which I find unique. These pieces also interest me as they are forever changing due to the enviroment they are set up in, may it change due something likeĀ the daylight changing or in some cases something as simple as the tide coming in or going out. This idea of change constantly happening and changing the piece is very intriguing and is definitely a concept I will keep in mind when creating my own work.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(images shown in the slideshow above were taken from: http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=robert+smithson+artist&FORM=HDRSC2 )

Leave a comment