The Botanical Garden – Singleton Park

We visited The Botanical Garden which is situated in Singleton Park. This is a location I was not even aware existed. These gardens are home to rare and exotic plants from all over the world and has a range of different gardens including Victory beds, Ornamental gardens, herb gardensand has features such as a Japanese bridge and many sun dials. I found from the moment we entered the garden that there was a relaxing quality that overtook the atmosphere despite the terrible weather. I was glad to visit the gardens on a day with bad weather because. as stated in a previous post, it gave me a chance to see areas I could use, what equipment would be suitable and it prepared us for what we may have had to endure had we picked this location. Luckily the gardens have a number of large glass houses which the public have access to. A detail that captured my attention in one of the glasshouses was the pond that had large orange and white fish swimming in it. I found the colours and reflections created from the scales of the fish very beautiful and inspiring. The colours of the many different plants as well as the range of different shapes of plants also caught my attention and I found them very beautiful to view.

(the images shown above were taken by myself)

The images shown above I took on our visit. They are of details both big and small that caught my attention. I thought that both inside and outside in this location was very beautiful and calming as there were only natural sounds such as rain hitting the ponds and the wind in the leaves. Although I liked this location I was concerned with how practical it would be for an exhibition as it did not seem accessible to myself.

As a group we discussed this site as a possibility for our exhibition and found that although we all liked the area, we did not have much to base our work on as the gardens have only been there for ten years so the research into its history was scarce. The only ideas we could really come up with was to do with the locations of where each plant originated from. We agreed this could be a possibility however, we would keep looking for another site to use.

Leave a comment